Skip to main content

Dataset

KYC and age-verification rules by market

How online casino operators are required to verify a player's age and identity, market by market: the regulator, the legal basis, the minimum age, when verification must happen, what identity checks the rule itself demands, self-exclusion registry checks and AML/enhanced-due-diligence triggers. Every non-null value cites at least one primary source with a short quote; anything we could not confirm against a primary text is left blank on purpose rather than guessed.

Version
Records
11
Licence
CC BY 4.0
Markets covered
11
Rules currently in force
7
Fields with a sourced value
48/77
Latest date checked
27 September 2026

Rules by market

Brazil

Regulator
Secretaria de Prêmios e Apostas (SPA/MF) — keeps only supervisory and sanction powers over past and transition-period conduct[1]
Legal basis
Medida Provisória nº 1.394, de 25 de setembro de 2026 (DOU) — prohibits the exploration, offer, intermediation and advertising of fixed-odds betting nationwide, including online casino games (art. 1 §1); revokes Lei 14.790/2023 arts. 1-21, 22-24, 25-40, 43-48 and 54; existing authorisations end 30 days after publication (art. 4); sites must go offline within 10 days (art. 7)[1]
Minimum age
Not specified in the primary text we checked
Verification timing
Not specified in the primary text we checked
Identity checks
Not specified in the primary text we checked
Self-exclusion check
Not specified in the primary text we checked
AML trigger
Not specified in the primary text we checked

Medida Provisória 1.394/2026 is provisional: under the Constitution an MP lapses if Congress does not convert it into law within an initial 60-day period, extendable once by a further 60 days. The fact-check pass did not surface a specific conversion-deadline date stated in the primary text itself, so none is given here. Because the licensed regime is being wound down rather than actively enforced, minimumAge, verificationTiming, identityChecks, selfExclusionCheck and amlTrigger are left null instead of restating the now-superseded Portaria SPA/MF rules as though they were current rules — see notes for that history.

Historical context: the Portaria SPA/MF 722/2024 and 1.231/2024 KYC/identity/AML rules applied to licensed operators until Medida Provisória 1.394/2026; authorisations end ~2026-10-25 (30 days after the MP's 25 September 2026 publication) and licensed sites had 10 days from publication (~2026-10-05) to go offline.

  1. [1] Medida Provisória nº 1.394, de 25 de setembro de 2026 (Planalto, DOU) (official source, checked 27 September 2026)
  2. [2] Lei 14.790/2023, consolidated text (arts. 26 etc. marked "Revogado pela Medida Provisória nº 1.394, de 2026") (secondary, checked 27 September 2026)

Last verified 27 September 2026.

Canada: Ontario

Regulator
Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario (AGCO) sets and enforces the standards; iGaming Ontario (iGO) conducts and manages the market and its self-exclusion registry[1]
Legal basis
AGCO Registrar's Standards for Internet Gaming, issued under the Gaming Control Act, 1992 — Standard 3.01 (eligibility), 3.04 (registration/KYC data), 2.14.1 (self-exclusion)[1]
Minimum age
19[1]
Verification timing
Before any real-money play[1]
Identity checks
name, date of birth, address, method of identification for subsequent log on, player contact information, information required by the PCMLTFA[1]
Self-exclusion check
Centralized Self-Exclusion Program/Registry, maintained by iGaming Ontario; operators must block enrolled persons from creating or accessing accounts[1]
AML trigger
FINTRAC: a Casino Disbursement Report is required at CAD $10,000 or more for a single disbursement, or two or more disbursements totalling CAD $10,000+ within 24 consecutive hours; a large cash/virtual-currency transaction record is also required at CAD $10,000+[2,3]

The FINTRAC AML thresholds are federal (Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Regulations, SOR/2002-184), applying to every Canadian casino/iGaming reporting entity, not only Ontario; in Ontario the reporting entity is iGaming Ontario as the provincial conductor.

  1. [1] AGCO — iGaming: Standards and Requirements (Registrar's Standards for Internet Gaming, print export, last updated 14 May 2026) (official source, checked 27 September 2026)
  2. [2] FINTRAC — Reporting casino disbursements to FINTRAC (official source, checked 27 September 2026)
  3. [3] FINTRAC — Record keeping requirements for casinos (official source, checked 27 September 2026)

Last verified 27 September 2026.

Canada: Alberta

Regulator
Alberta Gaming, Liquor and Cannabis Commission (AGLC) — regulatory oversight; Alberta iGaming Corporation (AiGC) — conducts and manages the market[1,2]
Legal basis
iGaming Alberta Act, SA 2025, c I-0.2 (creates AiGC; fully proclaimed as of 18 June 2026); AGLC Standards and Requirements for Internet Gaming (SRIG), version 26-06-18[3]
Minimum age
18[3]
Verification timing
Before any real-money play[3]
Identity checks
Not specified in the primary text we checked
Self-exclusion check
AGLC centralized Self-Exclusion Program; operators must not permit an enrolled person to enter or remain on their iGaming site[3]
AML trigger
The same federal FINTRAC thresholds apply as in Ontario: a Casino Disbursement Report at CAD $10,000+ for a single disbursement, or two or more disbursements totalling CAD $10,000+ within 24 consecutive hours[4]

identityChecks is left null: the fact-check pass paraphrases AGLC's SRIG s.4.4.2 data-collection list (name matched to a FINTRAC-compliant government ID, date of birth, address, log-on identifier, contact details, PCMLTFA information) but does not attach a verbatim excerpt to cite, so a value is not stated until a direct quote from the SRIG PDF is obtained. amlTrigger cites the same federal FINTRAC CAD $10,000 thresholds that apply to every Canadian iGaming reporting entity (see the Ontario row); SRIG s.5.8, which layers on its own PCMLTFA-compliant AML/CFT programme requirement, was not independently quoted here.

Alberta's iGaming market has been live since 13 July 2026. albertagamblingguide.com is the portfolio topic owner — cite, don't duplicate.

  1. [1] iGaming Alberta Act, SA 2025, c I-0.2 (King's Printer consolidation, current to 18 June 2026) (official source, checked 27 September 2026)
  2. [2] AGLC — iGaming (official source, checked 27 September 2026)
  3. [3] AGLC — Standards and Requirements for Internet Gaming (SRIG), version 26-06-18 (official source, checked 27 September 2026)
  4. [4] FINTRAC — Reporting casino disbursements to FINTRAC (official source, checked 27 September 2026)

Last verified 27 September 2026.

Canada: other provinces

Regulator
British Columbia: Independent Gambling Control Office (IGCO) regulates; BC Lottery Corporation (BCLC) operates PlayNow.com. Quebec: Loto-Québec operates lotoquebec.com (formerly branded Espacejeux)[1]
Legal basis
British Columbia: Gaming Control Act (BC), in force since 13 April 2026. Quebec's own statutory basis for Loto-Québec/Espacejeux was not independently verified in this pass[1]
Minimum age
Not specified in the primary text we checked
Verification timing
[2]
Identity checks
full name, email address, phone number, date of birth, occupation, complete postal address, identity documents[2]
Self-exclusion check
Not specified in the primary text we checked
AML trigger
Not specified in the primary text we checked

This row covers British Columbia and Quebec only; other provinces and the territories were not researched. BC's minimum age (19, government policy pages) and Quebec's (18, Loto-Québec/Espacejeux terms) differ, so minimumAge is left null at the row level rather than merged into one number. Quebec's statutory basis (Loi sur la Société des loteries du Québec, RLRQ c S-13.1) could not be independently verified (legisquebec.gouv.qc.ca returned 403), so legalBasis above is limited to the directly-quoted BC statute. verificationTiming and identityChecks are Quebec-only, not BC. selfExclusionCheck and amlTrigger are null: Quebec's terms include a self-exclusion article (art. 11) and BC publishes a land-based source-of-funds rule for large cash buy-ins, but neither was directly quoted in this pass.

espacejeux.com now redirects to lotoquebec.com and no longer serves the terms page directly, hence the Wayback citation. Federal FINTRAC AML thresholds (see canada-ontario row) apply nationally, including to these provincial monopolies, as reporting entities.

  1. [1] Government of British Columbia — Gambling in B.C. (official source, checked 27 September 2026)
  2. [2] Loto-Québec / Espacejeux — Conditions d'utilisation spécifiques (Wayback capture, 13 September 2026) (official source, checked 27 September 2026)

Last verified 27 September 2026.

Colombia

Licensed online marketIn forceMarket rowThe History of Gambling in Colombia
Regulator
Coljuegos (Empresa Industrial y Comercial del Estado, administers Colombia's gambling monopoly)[2]
Legal basis
Ley 643 de 2001, art. 4, literal b) (prohibits offering games of chance to minors); Coljuegos Acuerdo 04 de 2016 governs internet-operated games, later amended by Acuerdo 05 de 2018 (not independently verified)[1,2]
Minimum age
Not specified in the primary text we checked
Verification timing
Not specified in the primary text we checked
Identity checks
Not specified in the primary text we checked
Self-exclusion check
Not specified in the primary text we checked
AML trigger
Not specified in the primary text we checked

minimumAge, verificationTiming, identityChecks and amlTrigger are null: the earlier values rested on a secondary vLex AI-summary transcription of Acuerdo 04/2016 (whose official PDF, like Acuerdo 05/2018's, is an image-only scan with no extractable text layer) or on a Coljuegos article about territorial lottery/chance-game prize payouts (Acuerdo 097 de 2014), which does not apply to Coljuegos-authorised internet games. 18 as a minimum age is an inference from 'menores de edad', not a stated numeral; a second primary such as Ley 27 de 1977 art. 1 (age of majority) or a directly read Acuerdo 04/2016 age clause is needed to restore it. Coljuegos' own SIPLAFT/AML regime for internet-operated games (Resolución 260 de 2013 and successors) governs AML for this market but was not fetched with a quotable threshold.

Coljuegos Acuerdo 04 de 2016 was amended by Acuerdo 05 de 2018; both official PDFs are image-only scans, so article-level KYC detail could not be directly quoted in this pass.

  1. [1] Ley 643 de 2001, art. 4, literal b) (CREG gestor normativo) (official source, checked 27 September 2026)
  2. [2] Coljuegos — Documentos: Acuerdos sobre juegos operados por Internet (official source, checked 27 September 2026)

Last verified 27 September 2026.

Peru

Licensed online marketIn forceMarket rowThe History of Gambling in Peru
Regulator
MINCETUR — Dirección General de Juegos de Casino y Máquinas Tragamonedas (DGJCMT)[1]
Legal basis
Ley N.º 31557 (amended by Ley 31806) and its Reglamento, D.S. 005-2023-MINCETUR[1]
Minimum age
18[1]
Verification timing
Before any real-money play[1]
Identity checks
full name(s) and surname(s), ID document type, ID document number (DNI / Carnet de Extranjería / Pasaporte), date of birth, nationality, domicile (address, district, province, department), PEP sworn declaration where applicable[1]
Self-exclusion check
Not specified in the primary text we checked
AML trigger
Res. SBS 03622-2025, art. 22.3: a Registro de Operaciones (RO) entry is required for individual deposits, withdrawals, bets and prize winnings of US$2,500 or more (or the equivalent)[2]

selfExclusionCheck is null: D.S. 005-2023-MINCETUR arts. 5.1-5.2 reportedly bar persons listed on Peru's Registro de Personas Prohibidas de Acceder a Establecimientos (Ley 29907) from remote gaming platforms and require operators to consult it, but a verbatim quote for that clause was not obtained in this pass.

  1. [1] D.S. Nº 005-2023-MINCETUR (Reglamento), published in El Peruano (gob.pe copy) (official source, checked 27 September 2026)
  2. [2] Resolución SBS Nº 03622-2025 (El Peruano, official gazette) (official source, checked 27 September 2026)

Last verified 27 September 2026.

Argentina

Licensed online marketUncertainMarket rowThe History of Gambling in Argentina
Regulator
Buenos Aires Province: Instituto Provincial de Lotería y Casinos (IPLyC). CABA/LOTBA were not verified against a primary text in this pass[1]
Legal basis
Buenos Aires Province: Ley 15.079, Título VIII ("Regulación del Juego on line"), and Decreto reglamentario 181/2019, arts. 161 and 165[1]
Minimum age
18[1]
Verification timing
Before any real-money play[1]
Identity checks
18 years of age or older, not enrolled in the Registro de Autoexclusión, domicile in Buenos Aires Province, or the end device located in the Province, not a recipient of certain national or provincial social programmes (scope defined by IPLyC)[1]
Self-exclusion check
Registro de Autoexclusión (Buenos Aires Province): checked when an account is opened (art. 161); licensees must apply exclusions immediately and keep the registry updated (art. 165)[1]
AML trigger
Res. UIF 194/2023 (amended by Res. UIF 243/2023) replaced Res. UIF 199/2011 from 1 December 2023: online players count as "Clientes" requiring due diligence from the start of the relationship regardless of amount; a monthly systematic report (RSM) is required for prize collections and value conversions of 15 SMVM or more[2]

This row prioritises Buenos Aires Province (Ley 15.079 + Decreto 181/2019), the best-evidenced primary text; Argentina has no national online-gambling law, and CABA/LOTBA's own identity-check and self-exclusion rules were not independently verified against a primary CABA text in this pass, so overall status stays 'uncertain' rather than 'in-force'. A licence from one Argentine jurisdiction authorises nothing in another.

The previously cited UIF threshold (ARS 140,000, from a 2011 resolution) was stale twice over: Res. UIF 50/2022 first raised it to ARS 300,000, and Res. UIF 194/2023 then repealed Res. 199/2011 outright, replacing the amount-based reporting model with the 'Cliente'-from-day-one due-diligence rule and the 15-SMVM monthly systematic report cited above.

  1. [1] Decreto 181/2019 (Provincia de Buenos Aires), arts. 161 and 165 (official source, checked 27 September 2026)
  2. [2] UIF Argentina — Resolución 194/2023, actualización (official source, checked 27 September 2026)

Last verified 27 September 2026.

Mexico

Licensed online marketUncertainMarket rowThe History of Gambling in Mexico
Regulator
Secretaría de Gobernación (SEGOB), through the Dirección General de Juegos y Sorteos (LFJS art. 3)[1]
Legal basis
Ley Federal de Juegos y Sorteos (1947); Reglamento LFJS art. 85 (internet bets), last amended DOF 16-11-2023; LFPIORPI art. 17, fracción I[2,3]
Minimum age
Not specified in the primary text we checked
Verification timing
Rule exists, timing unclear[3]
Identity checks
Not specified in the primary text we checked
Self-exclusion check
Not specified in the primary text we checked
AML trigger
LFPIORPI art. 17, fracción I: identification required once an operation reaches 325x the daily UMA value; an Aviso (report) to the Secretaría (SHCP) is required at 645x the daily UMA value[2]

minimumAge is null: the previously cited 'credencial para votar' sentence does not appear anywhere in the Reglamento's text (it was an AI search-summary artifact); only a land-based 'menores de edad' restriction (Reglamento art. 5, fracción I, physical gaming areas) was verified, so 18 is an inference rather than a stated rule for internet bets. identityChecks and selfExclusionCheck are null: no primary or reliable source gives an itemised data list or a self-exclusion rule for internet-operated juegos con apuesta specifically. verificationTiming is 'unclear': Reglamento art. 85 requires recording the account number and bettor identity for internet bets but states no timing for when that must happen.

Every .gob.mx host was unreachable directly from this research environment; citations use Wayback Machine captures of the same official diputados.gob.mx PDFs. No distinct 'online casino' licence category is clearly established separate from land-based 'cruce de apuestas' permits extended to internet channels.

  1. [1] Ley Federal de Juegos y Sorteos, art. 3 (Wayback capture of diputados.gob.mx PDF) (official source, checked 27 September 2026)
  2. [2] LFPIORPI, art. 17 (Wayback capture of diputados.gob.mx PDF) (official source, checked 27 September 2026)
  3. [3] Reglamento de la Ley Federal de Juegos y Sorteos, art. 85 (Wayback capture of diputados.gob.mx PDF) (official source, checked 27 September 2026)

Last verified 27 September 2026.

Finland

Regulator
Poliisihallitus (National Police Board) is the competent authority until 30 June 2027; Lupa- ja valvontavirasto (Finnish Permit and Supervision Agency) becomes the supervisory authority from 1 July 2027[1]
Legal basis
Rahapelilaki (Gambling Act) 10/2026, §§20, 28 and 29; the Act enters into force 1 July 2027 (chapter 2, chapter 9 and §§44, 57, 63, 64 already in force from 1 March 2026)[1]
Minimum age
18[1]
Verification timing
Before any real-money play[1]
Identity checks
registration as a natural person aged 18 or over, identity verified at registration, identified/authenticated login required before play[1]
Self-exclusion check
A player may block all gambling that requires registration by notifying the supervisory authority; licence holders may not let a blocked player play[1]
AML trigger
Not specified in the primary text we checked

The regulator name is corrected from an earlier draft: the Act's own text names Poliisihallitus (until 30 June 2027) and Lupa- ja valvontavirasto (from 1 July 2027); 'Rahapelivalvontaviranomainen' does not appear in the statute. amlTrigger is null: §20 defers customer due diligence to the Money Laundering Act (444/2017), which was not independently fetched in this pass. The full licensed dual-track regime, including these KYC rules, only takes legal effect on 1 July 2027; the Veikkaus Oy state monopoly remains current law today (2026-09-27).

Private operators can apply for licences from 1 March 2026; the regulated dual-track market (private licences alongside Veikkaus) itself launches 1 July 2027.

  1. [1] Finlex — Suomen säädöskokoelma, Rahapelilaki 10/2026 (official source, checked 27 September 2026)

Last verified 27 September 2026.

Chile

No online licensing regimeIn forceMarket rowThe History of Gambling in Chile
Regulator
Not specified in the primary text we checked
Legal basis
Ley 19.995 (2005), art. 9, literal a) bars minors from licensed physical gaming halls; no statute extends this or any other licensing regime to online casinos. A pending bill, Boletín N° 14.838-03, would create one[1]
Minimum age
Not specified in the primary text we checked
Verification timing
Not regulated[2]
Identity checks
Not specified in the primary text we checked
Self-exclusion check
Not specified in the primary text we checked
AML trigger
Not specified in the primary text we checked

regulator is null: the Superintendencia de Casinos de Juego's existence and land-based remit under Ley 19.995 is real, but its public statement that it lacks jurisdiction over online betting platforms is sourced only to press coverage (Diario Financiero, Diario Constitucional), not to a directly quoted primary SCJ or Contraloría text, so no regulator value is stated here. minimumAge is null for the same reason the Japan row is: Ley 19.995's 'menores de edad' age applies to licensed physical gaming halls, not to any online product, because none exists. The absence of an online licensing regime is itself the current law, so status is 'in-force' rather than 'uncertain' or 'expected' — those would describe the pending bill, not today's rule.

Boletín N° 14.838-03 would create Chile's first online-betting licensing regime; as of the sources checked it had been approved 'en general' by the Senate and remained under further committee discussion, i.e. it is not yet law.

  1. [1] Ley 19.995 (2005), art. 9 (BCN — Ley Chile, official) (official source, checked 27 September 2026)
  2. [2] Senado de Chile — Boletín N° 14.838-03: aspectos clave del proyecto de apuestas en línea (official source, checked 27 September 2026)

Last verified 27 September 2026.

Japan

No online licensing regimeIn forceMarket rowThe History of Gambling in Japan
Regulator
Not specified in the primary text we checked
Legal basis
Penal Code (Act No. 45 of 1907), Arts. 185-186 (official English translation, reference only)[1]
Minimum age
Not specified in the primary text we checked
Verification timing
Not regulated[1]
Identity checks
Not specified in the primary text we checked
Self-exclusion check
Not specified in the primary text we checked
AML trigger
Not specified in the primary text we checked

No licensed online casino product exists in Japan, so no age, identity, self-exclusion or AML field can be sourced for one; each stays null. The Penal Code's gambling offences (Arts. 185-186) criminalise the act generally, including play at an offshore online casino per Japanese court and prosecutorial practice. The Ministry of Justice's official translation is reference-only and still shows the pre-2025 custodial-sentence wording that a 2025 Penal Code reform superseded, so treat the quote as indicative of the offence rather than a live translation. A 2025 amendment to the Basic Act on Gambling Addiction Countermeasures (in force 25 September 2025) separately bans steering people to illegal online gambling sites, but a primary text for it was not fetched in this pass.

The Integrated Resort Act permits only land-based casinos inside licensed IRs and creates no online product.

  1. [1] Japanese Law Translation (Ministry of Justice) — Penal Code, Act No. 45 of 1907, Arts. 185-186 (official source, checked 27 September 2026)

Last verified 27 September 2026.

Status definitions

In force
The rule (including, for Brazil, the current prohibition) is legally binding today.
Scheduled
A future date is fixed in law, regulation or an official announcement.
Expected
Officially targeted but not yet fixed in law.
Uncertain
Coverage is incomplete or disputed — see that row’s uncertainty note.

Methodology

Every row restates a rule already published in a primary source: an official gazette, a regulator’s own standards, a statute database or an equivalent government text. Trade press, law-firm blogs and encyclopedic sources were used only as leads to a primary, never cited on their own for a value.

A fact-check pass on 27 September 2026 independently re-fetched the primary text behind every non-null field and rechecked its quote: 58 fields were checked, 34 were verified as stated, 8 were corrected (a wrong value, quote or citation), 7 were set to null because the fetched text did not actually support the stated value, and 9 stayed uncertain — kept only where the fact-check itself supplied a primary source and an exact quote, otherwise nulled.

A market with no licensed online-casino regime (Chile, Japan) keeps every rule field null except the legal basis for the absence of one — we do not infer a rule that does not exist. Brazil’s row was rewritten after Medida Provisória 1.394/2026 prohibited fixed-odds betting and online casino games nationwide on 25 September 2026: its former Portaria SPA/MF KYC rules are recorded only as historical context in its notes, not as live rule fields, because a Medida Provisória is itself provisional until Congress converts it into law.

A blank field always reads “Not specified in the primary text we checked” — never a blank cell or an invented figure.

Corrections to this dataset

No public corrections have been logged for this dataset since it was first published on 27 September 2026. Every value above already reflects the 27 September 2026 fact-check pass described in the methodology.

See the full corrections policy and log.

Cite this dataset

Casino Capybara Research (2026). KYC and age-verification rules by market [Data set]. Version 2026-09-27. https://casinocapybara.com/data/casino-kyc-rules/. Licensed under CC BY 4.0.

You may copy, adapt and republish this data for any purpose, including commercially, as long as you credit Casino Capybara Research and link to this page.

Update history

  1. — First published: 11 market rows, fact-checked against primary sources on 27 September 2026 (58 fields checked: 34 verified, 8 corrected, 7 set to null, 9 uncertain). Brazil rewritten to reflect Medida Provisória 1.394/2026, which prohibits fixed-odds betting and online casino games nationwide.

Found an error? Read our corrections policy and see how this data is compiled.

We use analytics cookies to understand how visitors use this site. They are off unless you say yes.